Not afraid of the future

I may not be an expert on going places in life, and am probably not the best person to offer advice to anyone. But there are certain things I have picked up over the years, through my own mistakes, mishaps, misadventures, and observations of other people who do seem to know what’s going on.

There have been times in my life where I could have made inroads into the life and career that I often thought was mine for the taking. The courses that I started, but didn’t see through to completion, the jobs I quit…

But I realise that past mistakes do not disqualify me from future success. And there are lots of things that I have learned over the years that will stand me in good stead for the future.

While I don’t know about having “made it”, or even know what that means, if there even is such a thing. I think we are doing grand just now. Life is exciting, and so many new opportunities lie ahead.

I would like to write a fresh story. One in which I can explore new ideas, and get creative again. Whether I do the degree I’ve been looking at or not, I know that there is plenty of fun ahead, and that I can achieve what I want to, and develop skills and reach for my potential once more.

I think moving here was a huge step forward, and that this is a place we can both thrive in. There will probably be issues to work through, and problems to solve, but we can manage this. We have already come through so much in such a short time, that we are building our resolve, and our faith.

Some say it’s not about where you have been, but where you are going. No, we can’t go back, or change things in the past, but the things we have been through have moulded us into the people we are today. And they have equipped us for what tomorrow will bring.

We might not really know what we are supposed to do here in some ways, but we do know that we have stepped out in faith and that blessings are here, and on the way too.

“It’s not that you cannot do something, simply that you haven’t yet for one reason or another.”

Leave a comment